LinkedIn is very sensitive about privacy. However most people don’t know they can finetune what others see about them and how LinkedIn can work best for them.
In this case, the clue is in the Settings page (you will find the link on top of each page via the small arrow next to your name) and then “Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile” under Privacy Controls.
Only when someone has selected “Your name and headline” you will see who they are.
Another misperception is that when you click a link like “Someone in the Executive Leadership function in the Mechanical or Industrial Engineering industry from the London area, United Kingdom”, the first one in the list is the one who has visited your profile. This is NOT true! It can be anyone from the list!
Conclusion: even if you upgrade your account you will never see who has viewed your Profile unless they changed it themselves.
To your success,
LinkedIn Expert | Speaker | Trainer | Mentor
PS: more tips can be found in “Chapter 20: Little Known, But Interesting Features and Behavior of LinkedIn” via the bestselling book “How to REALLY use LinkedIn” (a FREE download is available at www.reallyconnect.com).